Auto Insurance Minimums for Alabama
Drivers in the state of Alabama must carry a minimum auto insurance coverage ratio of 25/50/25. This works out to $25,000 in Liability Bodily Injury coverage per person injured, $50,000 of Liability Bodily Injury coverage per accident and $25,000 of Property Damage coverage per accident.
If you drive in Alabama, you must carry liability insurance or place an alternative liability bond/deposit with the Department of Motor Vehicles or the Alabama State Treasurer. Cash deposits must be at least $50,000. For most, this option is too expensive.
If you are caught without insurance in Alabama, could leave you with a suspended license and an impounded car, as well as fees. Alabama residents must always provide proof of insurance if stopped by an officer of the law. With the average Alabama auto insurance quote at only $684, having coverage is worth more than being caught without it.
Alabama DUI Law
Drivers in Alabama face a serious offense if caught while driving under the influence, and is punishable with up to 90 days in license suspension.
The blood alcohol concentration level limit in the state of Alabama is 0.08%. If you are caught driving with a BAC of 0.15% or higher, you may face additional charges.
If you are arrested for a DUI in Alabama, you will have your license suspended for 90 days. A DUI offense will count as a misdemeanor, and if convicted, you could spend up to 365 days in jail. Fines range between $600 and $2,100, and you may have to participate in a special program for substance or alcohol abuse.
Alabama Teen Driving Laws/Auto Insurance Requirements
In order to begin the Graduated Licensing program (GDL), teens in Alabama must be at least 15 years old. The program generally runs from the age of 15 to 17, and 15 year old drivers must be accompanied by an adult or driving instructor, as well as have a learner’s permit in order to drive.
In order to receive a license, teens 16 through 17 years of age must have permission from their parent or legal guardian. They must also complete at least 30 hours of behind the wheel instruction. In lieu of instruction they may submit a form of verification from the Department of Public Safety that states if they have completed a driver education course successfully. This form must be signed by a parent or certified instructor.
DUI laws in Alabama state that it is against the law for any teen to drive with a BAC of 0.02% or higher. If a teen is caught drinking and driving, they may face license suspension for up to 90 days.
Teens must drive with the Alabama state minimum liability coverage. However, it is strongly advisable for teens to drive with more coverage than the minimum amount. Teens can lower their auto insurance premiums by maintaining a B average in school and completing a state approved driver safety program.