Auto Insurance Minimums for Massachusetts
The state of Massachusetts requires by law that drivers have minimum liability insurance of 20/40/5. This ratio translates into $20K of Liability Bodily Injury coverage per person, $40K of Liability Bodily Injury coverage per accident, and $5K of Property Damage per accident. In addition, the Massachusetts Department of Insurance requires a minimum of $8K for Personal Injury Protection, but this is not all.
The Department of Insurance strongly suggests that motorist purchase more than the minimum legal limit; this suggestion includes having uninsured/underinsured motorist protection (UM/UIM). While Massachusetts has the lowest percentage of uninsured drivers at 1%, they still have one of the highest numbers of drivers--4.7 million. This leaves approximately 470,000 uninsured motorists on the road putting you at risk. This does not include the thousands of other drivers that are in adequately insured. This may sound expensive, but you can find reasonable auto insurance quotes if you spend a little bit of time shopping around.
Deciding to drive without car insurance in Massachusetts can result in being fined up to $5,000. If you are unable to pay the fine, you may spend up to a year in jail as a result. There is even the possibility that you will lose your license and registration for 60 days.
Purchasing car insurance is simple. Utilizing resources like Save Today and looking around for auto insurance quotes online can save you time and money. The average cost of insurance in Massachusetts is about $2000 per year, which is far less than the potential fines of not being insured, not to mention the emotional anxiety that goes with irresponsibility.
Massachusetts DUI Law
Driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs in the state of Massachusetts is a serious crime that will result in a DUI or an OUI (operating a vehicle under the influence). An OUI can cost you up to $50,000 for multiple offenses, as well as jail time. If you are charged with an OUI while driving with a child under the age of 14, you will be charged with child endangerment as well.
The blood alcohol content limit (BAC) in the state of Massachusetts is 0.08% or higher, with sentence enhancements for those who are caught driving with a BAC of 0.15% or higher. Those under the age of 21 may not drive with a BAC of 0.02% or higher. That’s the amount usually found in just one drink—though it can be less for some people.
License suspension for Massachusetts drivers who are arrested for a DUI is 90 days, during which time the driver may not apply for a limited license. First time DUI and OUI offenses will result in a 1 month to 2 ½ year prison sentence. Fines for a first offense range from $500-$5,000. Penalties for driving with a child in the vehicle while under the influence are even more severe. Clearly, Massachusetts has a no tolerance policy.
Massachusetts Teen Driving Laws/Auto Insurance Requirements
Teens in Massachusetts cause the most accidents of any age group in the state. Teens are also involved in the most fatal car accidents at night. In order to curb these disturbing statistics, Massachusetts has adopted the Junior Operator License (JOL) program, which is its version of the Graduated Driver Licensing program. Since the development of the JOL program, there has been a 48% decrease in fatalities involving 16 year old drivers.
In order to receive a license in Massachusetts, teens must first receive a learner’s permit. To receive a learner’s permit, teens must be at least 16 years old and in order to graduate to a Junior Operator’s License, they must hold the permit for 6 months and complete both classroom and behind the wheel instruction. They must also be 16 ½ years old. To become fully licensed, teens must take a road and vision test, have a clean driving record and fill out an application.
Under Melanie’s Law, those under 21 in Massachusetts will have their license suspended for three years if they refuse to take a breath test. Teens that drive with a BAC of 0.02% or higher are considered driving under the influence, and may face license suspension and points on their driving record.
All drivers in Massachusetts must carry the minimum amount of insurance required by the state. This includes teens. Because teens are more likely to be involved in accidents than other age groups, they are advised to carry more than the minimum amount of coverage.
frac12; years old. To become fully licensed, teens must take a road and vision test, have a clean driving record and fill out an application.