Auto Insurance Minimums for North Dakota
Liability insurance is the required by almost all states, and it protects drivers from major financial responsibilities resulting from an at fault accident. In North Dakota, motorists should get an auto insurance quote that covers both bodily injury and property damage liability insurance in the amount of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.
If you don’t carry proof of minimum liability insurance coverage in North Dakota you will be fined $150 for the first offense, which will put a minimum number of six points on your driving record. For second offenders that are caught within an 18-month time period of the first offense you will be fined $300, in additional will be given additional points on your driving record.
On top of all the fines and points you are “gifted” you are mandated to provide proof of insurance for the duration of three years. Failure to provide proof of insurance in North Dakota will result in the immediate suspension of license and vehicle registration.
By getting an auto insurance quote now, you can save yourself time by looking online to compare coverage and it may save you money in the event you do get in an accident. Don’t get caught without insurance, a quote is a small price to pay for guilt-free driving.
North Dakota DUI Law
A whopping 42% of all fatal car crashes in North Dakota are alcohol related. This is why North Dakota takes drunk driving seriously, and if you are caught driving under the influence, you may lose your license for six months, and pay a hefty fine.
The blood alcohol content limit (BAC) for those driving in North Dakota is 0.08%, and sentence enhancements exist for those who drive with a BAC of 0.18% or higher.
If you are arrested for a DUI in the state of North Dakota, then you will most likely have your license suspended for 91 days. After 30 days you may be able to attain a limited license. If the driver refuses to be tested for drugs and alcohol, this limited license will also be revoked. A first offense DUI will result in a $250 fine, and second offense will garner $500—as well as 5 mandatory days in jail.
North Dakota Teen Driving Laws/Auto Insurance Requirements
Although North Dakota generally follows the same Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) system that other states follow, some of common phases of the GDL are eliminated. For instance, teens in North Dakota are able to apply for a learner’s license at just 14. At 16, teens may apply for a restricted license.
To begin the process of attaining a license, teens must first obtain a driving permit. In order to obtain this permit, teens must be 14 years old, must pass a written exam, pass a vision test and provide proof of identity. A driver permit is valid for one year. A teen must be in possession of this permit for at least six months, and must complete a driver education program. At 16, a teen may apply for a restricted license.
In North Dakota, teens that drive with a BAC of 0.02% or higher are considered driving under the influence, and may face license suspension and points on their driving record.
All drivers in North Dakota must carry the minimum amount of insurance required by the state. This includes teens. Because teens are more likely to be involved in accidents than other age groups, they are advised to carry more than the minimum amount of coverage.